Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How do I get a screen res of 960x540 PLEASE?

    OK. My `old` HDTV (Sharp AQUOS LC32P50E) only supports 960x540 res. official from Sharp support. Strange I know but thats the bottom line.

    How can i get my Dell 755 pc to output that screen res? I had a play in Powerstrip but to no avail. My graphics card (Intel q35 chipset) supports res` higher and lower but this option isnt available. Am i in limbo?

    Thanks guys

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,271
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,197 Times in 1,042 Posts
    I'm afraid that unless there is a specific driver for the device you are out of luck.

    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    848
    Thanks
    211
    Thanked 108 Times in 95 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by totalnovice View Post
    960x540 ... Am i in limbo?
    Probably. But the good news is you can hook a 960x540 phone up to it!

    Resolutions depend on the video driver and the capability of the monitor, and it's usually a mess if they're not matched. Any hacks I've seen have been to increase max resolution, not provide a specific in-between res.

    It looks like the Dell 755 has integrated graphics? All you can do is update the Win7 driver, but I'm almost certain it won't help.
    ETA: or as Joe said, find a driver for the monitor [unlikely].

    If you have a separate graphics card, upgrade its Win7 driver and have a look in its control panel software. I have a good NVidia card, and it doesn't allow me to pick any old resolution, but rather offers a bunch of stepped resolutions which my monitors support.

    If you search hard enough, you might find some hacks to force the res via software trickery--but it won't be a hardware res so expect some fuzziness or distortion. I used PowerStrip over a decade ago, can't hurt to give it a try.
    Last edited by Lugh; 2015-08-15 at 15:33.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Looks like ive lost this battle but cheers for your help chaps

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    I have a Dell Optiplex 755 with Linux Mint 17.2 installed as the only OS. The lowest resolutions for the onboard video adapter are 1024x768, 832x624 and 800x600. All are 4:3 ratio [width x height]. I used the default install of the OS, didn't go looking for new drivers, presently have it set at 1440x900.
    Last edited by Berton; 2015-08-15 at 18:37.

  6. #6
    Administrator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,987
    Thanks
    394
    Thanked 658 Times in 553 Posts
    What you need is the monitor.inf file for your monitor/TV - but Sharp don't have it listed as a download, maybe they didn't expect anyone to use it on a PC?

    Checking my W7 default monitor.inf, Sharp doesn't even have an entry, neither does 960x540.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,556
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 170 Times in 158 Posts
    This may be a question for http://www.avsforum.com/

    They have a lot of expertise although the focus is on bleeding edge.

    PS if you get an answer post a link, or maybe even if you don't.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •