Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Freecell

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Freecell

    I have Windows 10. I lost my old version of Freecell for Windows 7, when 10 upgraded. The version of Freecell in 10 is artsy-fartsy, and is just tedious. Where can I get the version for Windows 7, and will it run in 10?
    Bob Wall

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,942
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked 462 Times in 431 Posts
    Here's how to get it working in Windows 8:
    https://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...eecell+windows

    Perhaps this will work with Windows 10.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    There's 2 files available for Win7 games in Win8/8.1 and Win10, one for 32-bit and the other for 64-bit.
    http://www.windows10forums.com/threa...-for-w10.2273/
    msgames_win8_x64.msi
    msgames_win8_x86.msi
    They are what I used on my Win8.1 and Win10 computers. seem to be okay but I only use Mahjong and Solitaire.
    Last edited by Berton; 2015-10-09 at 13:10.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Los Gatos CA
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    There are a number of reason why Ill never update to Win 10, but losing FreeCell!!! That's a deal breaker all on its own.

    David

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Rhinoceros For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2015-10-12)

  6. #5
    Administrator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,423
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 872 Times in 702 Posts
    Bob - To turn your question around, I can confirm that FreeCell from Windows 7 runs absolutely fine in Windows 10, as do all the other Windows 7 games.
    freecell1.png
    Click to enlarge
    freecell2.png
    Click to enlarge
    I can't give any more info except to paraphrase "Google is your friend", e.g. "Get Windows 7 games for Windows 10".
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2015-10-13 at 05:22.

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,942
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked 462 Times in 431 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhinoceros View Post
    There are a number of reason why Ill never update to Win 10, but losing FreeCell!!! That's a deal breaker all on its own.

    David
    That was one thing I hated about Windows 8.

  8. #7
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,567
    Thanks
    277
    Thanked 172 Times in 159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    Bob - To turn your question around, I can confirm that FreeCell from Windows 7 runs absolutely fine in Windows 10, as do all the other Windows 7 games.
    ".
    As does the XP version!!
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  9. #8
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,567
    Thanks
    277
    Thanked 172 Times in 159 Posts
    Although there is probably fine print some where that makes it illegal,
    I will just have to live w/ that on my conscience

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,156
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    Have had problems installing on a Win10 computer, keeps telling me to wait on the other install to finish. Have come to the conclusion the computer is "too good". The man's grandson built it and it's quite top of the line with a 4.5GHz CPU and very fast video. It may be the mouse is doing its own double double click, will have to revisit that issue.

  11. #10
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,567
    Thanks
    277
    Thanked 172 Times in 159 Posts
    Again the XP version works on W10! You need the exe and the dll files and IIRC cards.dll.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •