Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger Vincenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    External monitor has strange anomaly

    My friend's external monitor is set to duplicate the display on her laptop, but it has an odd box on it. And all the colors outside of the box are muted, the colors are normal inside the box. See image attached.

    It is an HDMI connection, I've tried rebooting, also disconnected the monitor, powered the monitor down, reconnected it. Did not help. Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Vincenzo; 2016-09-22 at 23:06.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger Vincenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Also when I changed the mode to "extend desktop" the box was still there on the external monitor.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,304
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,201 Times in 1,046 Posts
    Is there another HDMI port to try? Or a different HDMI cable? Is the laptop monitor OK?
    Joe

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    Vincenzo (2016-09-23)

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,942
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked 462 Times in 431 Posts
    Is there a VGA connection? Try that instead of HDMI.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to mrjimphelps For This Useful Post:

    Vincenzo (2016-09-23)

  7. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,753
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 180 Times in 156 Posts
    That doesn't look like a connection problem.

    Are there any assistive technology aids being used such as screen magnifiers?

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Browni For This Useful Post:

    Vincenzo (2016-09-23)

  9. #6
    5 Star Lounger Vincenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Thanks for the suggestions. After a bit more testing based on your suggestions did not work, I brought in another laptop and connected the monitor to it. The box was still there. I concluded the monitor is bad. She will be picking up another monitor tonight.

    Thanks for the help.

  10. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,942
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked 462 Times in 431 Posts
    I agree with you that the monitor is likely the culprit. The clincher is that it did the same thing on another laptop.

    Two final tests, just to be sure: (1) Degauss the monitor and try it again (I doubt this will fix it, but you never know); (2) If you have another monitor available, plug it into her laptop, to see if it performs correctly.

  11. #8
    Administrator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,972
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 824 Times in 739 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    I agree with you that the monitor is likely the culprit. The clincher is that it did the same thing on another laptop.

    Two final tests, just to be sure: (1) Degauss the monitor and try it again (I doubt this will fix it, but you never know); (2) If you have another monitor available, plug it into her laptop, to see if it performs correctly.
    Degaussing only applies to CRT monitors not LCDs.

    Jerry

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    mrjimphelps (2016-09-24)

  13. #9
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    859
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 109 Times in 96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    That doesn't look like a connection problem.

    Are there any assistive technology aids being used such as screen magnifiers?
    I agree. It's also a very strange way for a monitor to go bad, I've never seen anything like that. I suggest cycling thru the monitor's own menus to see if there's something like Browni's suggestion enabled, or a portrait orientation maybe when it should be landscape.

    Whatever it is, it's almost definitely local to the monitor itself, either hardware of software.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1703; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 1TB HD

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Lugh For This Useful Post:

    Vincenzo (2016-10-09)

  15. #10
    5 Star Lounger Vincenzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    I finally got in front of the Asus monitor and noticed that the box is not there for a brief moment when I first plug in the hdmi cable, so I figured it might be a "feature" of some sort. I started playing with the buttons on bottom of the monitor (which Lugh had suggested) and was able to get the display back to normal. Not sure what kind of mode it was in.

    Thanks for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •