Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Los Gatos CA
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Text only on BBC

    I am using FF 54 64, Win 7 SP1. I have a 200mbps connection, but just lately Firefox seems to be loading pages much slower than it was a while ago. The BBC now only loads as a page of text , other sites work normally. There is an icon up beside the address, hovering over it produces: "You have blocked location information for the Website". However, other sites also have this icon and they load normally, albeit with rather more delay than used to be the case. One other irritant is that chunks of pages are left on screen from time to time when I switch to another site, and they'll persist for some time. (see attached)

    Capture 1.JPGCapture 2.JPG

    Any suggestions?

    David

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    8,021
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 996 Posts
    Have you tried running Firefox without add-ons - checking to see how IE performs or if you get the same in Safe Mode with Networking ?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    223
    Thanked 121 Times in 106 Posts
    Are you using BBC.com? Try BBC.co.uk instead, I find one usually works when the other doesn't.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6 (new 2017)
    Windows 10 Home x64 1709; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    256G SSD, 4TB HD

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 373 Times in 326 Posts
    FWIW I have FF 54.0.1 and both www.bbc.com and www.bbc.co.uk display as I would expect:
    BBC_SS.jpg
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    Confuscius said: "no use running harder if you're on the wrong road" and "any problem once correctly understood is already half-solved".

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    8,021
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 996 Posts
    In the opening post "I am using FF 54 64" I was wondering if this is a 64 bit version of FF - I know FF intend to auto update to a 64 bit version from v56 but wasn't sure if a 64bit version of FF was available now.

    I think we will need to wait for some feed back.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Los Gatos CA
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Thanks for all the input. The FF is 64 bit, and the version is 54.0,1. Both BBC.com & .co.uk are the same, text only. All other Websites, at least all that I have looked at, are okay too. My wife's laptop displays both ok, so it's definitely something in my machine. I have tried deleting all history cookies etc.

    I just disabled all add-ons and that cleared the problem. Enabled them one at a time, Privacy Badger is the culprit. Strange though that it only caused a problem with the BBC.

    David

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    8,021
    Thanks
    203
    Thanked 1,048 Times in 996 Posts
    Glad you found the culprit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •