Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger Lou Sander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, USA
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

    Access 2010 - Open a Form in Maximized Mode

    I'm modifying a simple database that I got from elsewhere.

    There is a form that opens in restore mode, and I want it to open in maximized mode. This seems like it should be easy, but I can't find how to do it.

    I have some Access skills that once were pretty good, but are now very rusty. I can get into Design view and open the Property Sheet, but I don't know where to go from there. I've set Fit to Screen to YES, but that doesn't seem to do anything.

    Help!
    Lou Sander
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    USA

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,015
    Thanks
    164
    Thanked 192 Times in 185 Posts
    Hmm, all my forms open maximised. The only way I could see to get them to not open maximised was to go to file/options, then current database. Under document window options click overlapping windows. Clicking tabbed windows restored full screen. I'd be interested to see if there's another way. Note that I click 'display document tabs'.
    Eliminate spare time: get on the Internet!

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger Lou Sander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, USA
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    I tried overlapping windows and tabbed windows, with 'display document tabs' checked both ways.

    Nothing changed.

    HERE is some stuff from another forum. I Don't know what to do with it.

    The On Load property of my form has an [Embedded Macro] that I don't understand
    Last edited by Lou Sander; 2017-08-11 at 17:41.
    Lou Sander
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    USA

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,015
    Thanks
    164
    Thanked 192 Times in 185 Posts
    Sorry, I'm on 2016, but you're using 2010, so there may be (are) differences. Make a copy of your form and remove the embedded macro (should be able to by selecting the text and hitting delete). See if that makes a difference. Otherwise I'm hoping someone with 2010 experience will chime in (I went from 2003 straight to 2016)
    Eliminate spare time: get on the Internet!

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,015
    Thanks
    164
    Thanked 192 Times in 185 Posts
    Just found this page - might this help? I never asked how you were opening the form, macro, VBA or manually?
    Eliminate spare time: get on the Internet!

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,466
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    I don't know why it is opening this form different from any others, but just put DoCmd.Maximize in the form's open event.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to MarkLiquorman For This Useful Post:

    Lou Sander (2017-08-12)

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger Lou Sander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, USA
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Well, it worked!

    I don't know what happened the first time I tried it.
    Lou Sander
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    USA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •