Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,954
    Thanks
    422
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,450 Posts

    PowerShell Remoting and Microsoft Accounts

    Hey Y'all,

    Once again I'm back with PowerShell Remoting questions.

    I've been trying to get remoting to work between a computer using a Microsoft Account and one using a Local Account.

    Both Machines are Windows 10. I have them setup so that I can access shares on either machine from the other machine. Free File Sync also works between the machines. However, I can not get PS Remoting to work.

    Googling hasn't turned up any useful information, at least with the terms I've tried.

    FYI, I did discover that it you want to access a machine with a MS Account from one with a Local Account you need to prefix the MS Account name with "MicrosoftAccount" (no spaces!), e.g. MicrosoftAccount\youremail@gmail.com.

    FYI: remoting was working just fine when both were local accounts with same name/PW combos!

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,954
    Thanks
    422
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,450 Posts
    He's Baaack!

    On a whim I tried changing the password on my Local Account machine to the same as my MS Account password (Userid's already the same) and it now works one-way. I can remote from the Local Account Machine to the MS Account machine but NOT the other way around! Curiouser and Curiouser.

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,556
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 212 Times in 189 Posts
    This is probably a very silly question, but what has Powershell to do with Remote Desktop, properly the province of MSTSC since time immemorial?
    BATcher

    milliHelen (sub-unit): that quantity of female facial beauty sufficient to launch a single ship

  4. #4
    Administrator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,240
    Thanks
    142
    Thanked 847 Times in 682 Posts
    RG is talking about issuing PowerShell commands in a PS console on device A to execute on device B, similar to tools like PSExec.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,556
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 212 Times in 189 Posts
    Ah...
    BATcher

    milliHelen (sub-unit): that quantity of female facial beauty sufficient to launch a single ship

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,271
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,197 Times in 1,042 Posts
    Going from MSA machine to Local account machine do you prefix the local account name with a domain/PC name?
    Joe

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,954
    Thanks
    422
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,450 Posts
    Joe,

    No domain it's a workgroup. Should I try the workgroup name?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,271
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,197 Times in 1,042 Posts
    Meant domain as generic part of the naming scheme. In a workgroup setup the domain is usually the PC name.
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •