Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Verizon to AOL POP3 E-mail transition

    I have a Vista machine that I use primarily as my POP3 e-mail machine running Outlook 2010.

    AOL has taken over the Verizon e-mail accounts and now wants the accounts transitioned to a configuration of their choosing. I am attempting to utilize their instructions, however, I have not met with success. The process asks for the password to the e-mail account...It has been over 5 year since I set up the account on this machine. I have used all my normal passwords - all without success.

    The AOL instruction set doesn't have any procedures for 'forgotten password'.

    AOL says this procedure needs to be completed by the middle of November.

    Help!

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 168 Times in 112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mmi16 View Post
    The AOL instruction set doesn't have any procedures for 'forgotten password'.

    AOL says this procedure needs to be completed by the middle of November.
    Isn't there a Verizon email password reset page? Until the cutover date I would think Verizon customer service ought to be able to help you with that.

    Forget about AOL for the moment and see if you can do a password reset the Verizon way. I would think you ought to be able to set a new password, confirm you can get to your email using the new password in both Verizon's current webmail interface as well as your Outlook client, and once that's working then deal with the AOL change.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to dg1261 For This Useful Post:

    mmi16 (2017-10-14)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    The password that allows me to sign into my Verizon Webmail account is rejected when I attempt to go through the Add Account routine in Outlook as AOL is instructing

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,204
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,061 Posts
    Time to ring them up.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Got it going!

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,204
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,061 Posts
    How?

    cheers, Paul

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    How?

    cheers, Paul
    My original set of instructions lacked the Port Changes. Apparently somewhere along the line I lost a page of the instructions.

  9. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    For whatever the reason - When using my Outlook 2010 I get the 'Enter Password' popup screen every time I attempt to send. For whatever reasons I can receive mail through the Verizon account(s).

    When I enter the password that gives me access to my Verizon/AOL Webmail it is not accepted. ?????????????

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 126 Times in 119 Posts
    Do you get an error message?
    Clone or Image often! Backup, backup, backup, backup...
    - - - - -
    Home Built System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit, AMD Athlon II X3 435 CPU, 16GB DDR3 RAM, ASUSTeK M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (AM3) motherboard, 512GB SanDisk SSD, 3 TB WD HDD, 1024MB ATI AMD RADEON HD 6450 video, ASUS VE278 (1920x1080) display, ATAPI iHAS224 Optical Drive, integrated Realtek High Definition Audio

  11. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RockE View Post
    Do you get an error message?
    Not an Error pre se. I get the pop up box for me to enter the password. EVERY TIME; ie. it doesn't accept the password I have entered and it is the one that operates the Webmail for the same e-mail address.

  12. #11
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,204
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,061 Posts
    Check that you use the same user name for sending and receiving.
    Is the server for sending the same as receiving?

    cheers, Paul

  13. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Check that you use the same user name for sending and receiving.
    Is the server for sending the same as receiving?

    cheers, Paul
    Receiving is POP, Sending is SMTP - configured to use the same password
    POP e-mail.jpg

  14. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,204
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,061 Posts
    Does it work if you tick the "save the password" box?

    cheers, Paul

  15. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Does it work if you tick the "save the password" box?

    cheers, Paul
    No difference

    POP e-mail 1.jpg

    I have subsequently unchecked the SPA box
    Last edited by mmi16; 2017-10-31 at 14:39.

  16. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Finally got it working by changing the appropriate boxes on the account that was working.

    Initial change instructions wanted one to create a New Account - that is the one that I was never able to get to work. I have deleted that attempt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •